Cookies are disabled so parts of this website may not function correctly, read more about cookies and how to enable them here  

Become a member

To apply for SBNS membership click the link below and visit our application page.

Find out more

Become a Neurosurgeon

The management of neurosurgical patients requires excellent medical and surgical skills, a career in Neurosurgery offers many challenges and rewards.

Find out more

The Society Medal was introduced in 2006. Nominations to Council by citations can be submitted by full members and other bodies.  The medal is awarded to UK Neurosurgeons in recognition of their contribution to British Neurosurgery.

The award is not necessarily made annually.  The recipient is invited to the Society Gala Dinner held during the SBNS biannual Scientific Meetings where the award is presented. 

The SBNS Medal has been awarded to the following neurosurgeons:


Myles Gibson OBE
Awarded in March 2023 in Leeds 


Prof. John Pickard 
Awarded in March 2019 at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Manchester 


Prof. Tipu Aziz
Awarded in March 2019 at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Manchester


Prof. Balasubramaniam  Ramaurthi


Awarded to his son at the 65th Anniversary meeting of the Neurological Society of
India (NSI) in Chennai in December 2016                                          


Mr Sam Galbraith
Awarded posthumosuly at the  
SBNS Spring Meeting in Newcastlein April 2016.
It was presented to  his Wife Nichola Tennant and his daughter Mhairai Galbraith                                                            


Mr Glenn Neil-Dwyer
Presented at the Spring Meeting in Southampton,
April 2015





Mr Charles Polkey
Presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting in London, March 2014


Mr Jason Brice 
Presented at the SBNS Autumn Meeting in Colchester, September 2013 





Mr David Forster
Presented  at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Sheffield,
May 2013

ProfSirGrahamTeasdale.jpg                                                               JohnMiles.jpg ProfessorDouglasMiller.jpg

Prof. Sir Graham Teasdale
Presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting, March 2011, Bristol

John Miles
Presented at the SBNS Autumn Meeting, September 2010, London

 Professor Douglas Miller
 Awarded posthumously April 2010
 Presented to Professor Miller’s wife,
 Margot Miller
 James Leggate, Beryl Boulderstone,Margot Miller, Yvonne Lain, and  Philip van Hille

ProfJohnGillingham.jpg TomKing.jpg  DerekGordon.jpg
Prof. John Gillingham 
Presented at Magdalen College, May 2009, Oxford 

Tom King 
Presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting, April 2009, Birmingham


Derek Gordon 
Presented in Belfast in 2008

left to right: Ted Buckley (Cork), Dermot Byrnes (Belfast), Rab Hide (Glasgow), Ian Bailey (Belfast), John Gray (Belfast), Derek Gordon,Mick Powell (SAC Chair), John Pickard (SBNS Pres) and Philip van Hille(SBNS Pres Elect). 

Professor Lindsay Symon
Presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting, April 2008, Liverpool.

 Professor Bryan Jennett 
 Presented in September 2007, Glasgow.
Last Updated: 1 December 2023