Cookies are disabled so parts of this website may not function correctly, read more about cookies and how to enable them here  

Become a member

To apply for SBNS membership click the link below and visit our application page.

Find out more

Patient Information

SBNS is unable to give medical advice or recommend neurosurgeons. Please use an appropriate support group or your GP.

Find out more

Become a Neurosurgeon

The management of neurosurgical patients requires excellent medical and surgical skills, a career in Neurosurgery offers many challenges and rewards.

Find out more

Trustees and Directors

The SBNS Board of Trustees  have legal and fiduciary responsibility for the Society.  The Officers are elected by the voting members of the Society and, each individual serves as a Trustee for four years. 

  • President
  • President Elect
  • Immediate Past President
  • Treasurer
  • Honorary Secretary


Council  advises the Board of  Trustees and plays a pivotal role in determining the strategic and professional direction of the Society, ensuring it remains responsive to the needs and views of its membership. 

Council comprises:

  • 10 Elected Council Members
  • Ex officio members include the chairs of the sub-speciality leads as invited guests
  • Council meets 4 times a year  and is chaired by the President


  • Pesident  
    Mr N Kitchen - 2018-2020 Sept
  • President Elect 
    Mr A Jenkins - 2019 - 2020 Sept
  • Vice President
    Mr N Phillips - 2018-2021 Sept
  • Treasurer 
    Mr N Mendoza - 2019-2023 Jan
  • Honorary Secretary
    Mr. P. Grundy - 2019 - 2023 Sept 
  • Meetings and Communications Secretaries
    Prof. M Wilson and Ms K Gilkes - 2016-2021 Sept 

 Elected Council Members

  • Mr P Whitfield 2019 -2024 Sept
  • Prof A King  2019-2024 July
  • Mr C Wigfield 2019-2204 Dec
  • Ms J Grieve 2018-2023 Feb
  • Prof I Kamaly-Asl 2018-2023 Feb
  • Mr S Cooke 2017-2022 July
  • Mr M Radatz 2017-2022 Jan
  • Mr C Tolias 2016-2021 Oct
  • Mr S Basu 2016-2021 Oct
  • Prof C Watts 2016-2021 Oct

  Ex-Officio Members  

  • Chairman of National Neurosurgical Audit Programme (NNAP)
     Mr N Phillips  2017-2021 Sept
  • Chairman of SAC in Neurosurgery
    Mr S Thomson 2020-2023 Feb
  • Chairman of Intercollegiate Examination Board
    Ms J Brown 2018-2021 Sept
  • Chair of The National Foundation (TFN)
    Mr N Mendoza  appointed 2019 Sept
  • Editor of the British   Journal  Neurosurgery
    Mr P Mitchell 
  • Chair of the SSB of the RCS Ed
    Mr W Taylor appointed 2015 Dec
  • RCS Council Rep & GIRFT Rep
    Mr N Phillips 2011 -2023 July
  • RCSI Representative
    Prof. C Bolger 2019 - 2022
  • Chair of the SSB RCSEd
    Mr W Taylor appointed 2015
  • EANS/WFNS Reps
    Ms T Karabatsou 2019 - 2023 Oct
    Mr J. Timothy 2018-2022 June
  • NICE Co-Ordinator 
    Prof. N Gurusinghe appointed  2011 Oct
  • Workforce Planning Represenative
    Mr S. Sinha  appointed 2020 August 
  • Trainee Representative (Chair of the BNTA)
    Mr A Jayasekera  2018 – 2021 April
  • Lay Representative 
    Ms S Woodward 2010 -2021 July

 Invited Members  - Sub-Specialty Leads  

 Skull base
 Academic Committee Chair 

 Mr G. Solanki
 Prof. K  Ashkan
 Mr D. Bulters
 Prof. M. Wilson
 Mr P. Plaha
 Mr I Robertson
 Mr N Haden
 Mr M. Jenkinson  
 Ms H. Fernandes

 Academic Committee


Past Chair

Research Manager







Skull base



BNRG meeting lead

MRC brain tissue liaison

BNTA chair (or nominated rep)

BNTRC chair (or nominated rep)

Survey lead #1

Survey lead #2

Mentorship lead

Ex officio member – SBNS president

Michael Jenkinson

Peter Hutchinson

Carole Turner

Puneet Plaha #1

Joshi George

Diederik Bulters#1

Ludvic Zrinzo #1

William Gray

Adel Helmy

Eleni Maratos #1

Greg James

Conor Mallucci

Stephen Price

William Gray #1

Ashan Jayasekera

Dan Fountain

Giles Critchley

Paul Brennan

Rob Brownstone

Neil Kitchen




Stuart Smith #2 Oncology


Jash Patel #2 Vascular

Erlick Pereira #2 Functional



Omar Pathmanaban #2 Skull base

Kristian Aquilina

Richard Edwards


Ryan Mathew #2 MRC brain tissue liaison

 Chairperson - Michael Jenkinson
 Past Chair - Peter Hutchinson
 Research Manager - Carole Turner
 Oncology - Punneet Plaha  & Stuart Smith
 Spine - Joshi George & Mark Nowell
 Vascular - Diederik Bulters & Jash Patel
 Functional - Ludvic Zrinzo & Erlick Pereira
 Trauma - Adel Helmy
 Skull Base - Eleni Maratos & Omar Pathmanaban
 Paedatrics - Greg James & Kristian Aquilina
 CSF - Conor Mallucci &  Richard Edwards
 BNRG Meeting Lead - Stephen Price
 MRC brain tissue liaison - William Gray & Ryan Mattew
 BNTA chair (or nominated rep) - Ashan Jayasekera
 BNTRC chair (or nominated rep) - Dan Fountain
 Survey Lead 1 - Giles Gritchley
 Survey Lead 2 - Paul Brennan
 Mentorship Lead - Rob Brownstone
 Ex-Officio Member - SBNS President, Neil Kitchen

Last Updated: 23 September 2020