Cookies are disabled so parts of this website may not function correctly, read more about cookies and how to enable them here  

Become a member

To apply for SBNS membership click the link below and visit our application page.

Find out more

The SBNS Officers and Council members are elected by the full members of the Society. The President of the Society is an invited member of the Council of The Royal College of Surgeons of England, of the Council of the Federation of Surgical Specialties of Great Britain and Ireland and of the Surgical Forum.

The Society is also represented on the Specialist Advisory Committee in Neurosurgery to the Joint Committee on Higher Surgical Training and on the Intercollegiate Examination Board for the Specialist Fellowship in Neurosurgery. Links with the Department of Health are maintained through membership of the Joint Neuroscience Council.

The Society is also a member organisation of the European Association of Neurosurgical Societies and of the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies



Remit: To govern the Society of British Neurological Surgeons. Council Meetings are held four times a year.

Business Meetings are held during the Spring and Autumn Meetings.  The AGM is held during the Autmn Meeting.

Council and Business Meeting dates 

Council and Committee Members 


  SBNS President  - Sept 2018-2020
  Mr Neil Kitchen
  Victor Horsley Dept of Neurosurgery
  The National Hospital for Neurology & Neurosurgery
  Queen Square


 Immediate Past President - Sept 2018-2019
 Mr Paul May 
 Dept of Neurosurgery
 The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust
 Lower Lane
 Liverpool L9 7LJ



 Vice Presient and NNAP Lead - Feb 2018 - 2020
 Mr Nick Phillips
 Dept of Neuosurgery
 The Leeds General Infirmary
 Great George Street
 LeedsLS1 3EX


 Honorary Treasurer -  Jan 2019 - 2023
 Mr Nigel Mendoza  
 The Bays
 S Wharf Rd
 London W2 1NY


 Honorary Secretary - September 2015 - 2019
 Mr John Thorne
 Dept of Neurosurgery
 Salford Royal Foundation Trust
 Ellies Old Road


 Meetings & Communication Secretary - Sept - 2016 -  2020
 Mr Mark Wilson 
 Imperial Hospitals NHS Trust
 St Mary’s Hospital
 Prad Street 
 London W2 1NY                           



 Meetings & Communication Secretary - Sept - 2016 -  2020
 Ms Catherine Gilkes 
 Dept of Neurosurgery
 The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust
 Lower Lane
 Liverpool L9 7LJ 

Last Updated: 19 July 2019