Cookies are disabled so parts of this website may not function correctly, read more about cookies and how to enable them here  

Become a member

To apply for SBNS membership click the link below and visit our application page.

Find out more

Patient Information

SBNS is unable to give medical advice or recommend neurosurgeons. Please use an appropriate support group or your GP.

Find out more

Become a Neurosurgeon

The management of neurosurgical patients requires excellent medical and surgical skills, a career in Neurosurgery offers many challenges and rewards.

Find out more


Calman Trainees (SpRs)

Further recruitment to the Calman programme ended with the introduction of MMC and the new web-based curriculum for run-through neurosurgical training, lasting 8 years. The old-style Calman trainees are gradually being lost to the system, as they complete training, after their 6 year programme, an overview of which can be reached via the link below. It also specified various key operative competencies:

The minimum operating competencies that should be achieved by completion of the second, fourth and final year of training.

xls_icon.gif Operating Competencies

pdf_icon.gif The curriculum for neurosurgical training.

MMC trainees (ST trainees)

The current (2010) curriculum should be followed (see link below).
The web-based curriculum has considerable detail on what is to be covered in the various phases of the programme, which is typically entered at ST1 level, immediately after completion of the second year of Foundation Training. It commences with Basic Neurosciences Training (BNT), followed by basic and emergency neurosurgery training, general neurosurgery, and finally advanced/subspecialty neurosurgery. BNT takes two to three years, from ST 1 - ST 2/3, and includes at least one year of neurosurgery, with training in neurology, neuro-intensive care, an allied surgical discipline and A & E included, though there may be options to alter this in light of experience acquired in foundation training. The basic and emergency neurosurgery is spread over ST 3 - ST 4, general neurosurgery in ST 5 - ST 6, and advanced and subspecialty neurosurgery in ST 7 & ST 8.

webpage_icon.gif The Intercollegiate Surgical Curriculum Programme (ISCP) holds details of the new Neurosurgery curriculum



The FRCS(SN) Examination

Intercollegiate FRCS Specialty Examination in Neurosurgery "The Intercollegiate Examination in Neurosurgery" is a requirement for CCT.  Section 1 & Section 2 examinations are held twice a year.  Application should be made via the Intercollegiate Examination Board Website.

The exam is an "exit" exam, candidates are assessed to see if they are competent to start work as a consultant.  Therefore the examination is normally taken in the final two years of training.  For full details about the regulations, dates, fees etc., please visit the Intercollegiate Examination Board website.

You are also advised to consider going on the Fellowship Revision Course run by Mr Wadley from the Royal London Hospital.


The European Examination

The European Examination is open to UK trainees whether or not they have taken part in the EANS Course. The first part can be taken before CCT and is in the form of a multiple choice examination; the second part is taken after CCT and is an oral examination. For details of The European Exam see the EANS website.

Last Updated: 28 February 2020