Cookies are disabled so parts of this website may not function correctly, read more about cookies and how to enable them here  

All essays should follow the relevant guidelines below

and be submitted to Carole Turner

Campbell-Connolly Neurotrauma Prize

Deadline for submission Autumn 2018

Prize will be announced Spring 2019

The winner will get an opportunity to present their paper at the 2019 Spring SBNS meeting in Manchester.

The  Campbell-Connolly Neurotrauma Prize was introduced in 2009 and is awarded by the Society of British Neurological Surgeons following a generous bequest from Mr Campbell Connolly, retired Barts Neurosurgeon who sadly passed away aged 90 on August 15 2009.  The value of the award is £1,000 and will be awarded every two years.


The eligibility criteria for the prize are as follows:-

  • Neurosurgeons either in training or recently appointed Consultants under the age of 40
  • Manuscripts should comprise either laboratory or clinical research relevant to either cranial or spinal Neurotrauma
  • The applicants should make a declaration stating that he or she has performed most (i.e. more than 50%) of the work and that such work was mainly undertaken in the UK/Ireland
  • A letter to this effect from the candidate’s Head of Department should be attached
  • Manuscripts may contain research which is unpublished, submitted for publication, in press or published
  • A short curriculum vitae and the letter from the Head of Department is also required. 

The papers will be judged by members of the British Neurotrauma Group and SBNS Academic Committee.



Mr D Baxter from St George's Hospital, London for his paper entitled: Blast injury in pigs

 The Prize was presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Oxford by Mr Richard Kerr


Mr S Harrison from Southampton General Hospital for his paper entitiled: Quantitative assessment of the effect of severe traumaticbrain injury on markers of CNS injury in human patients.


Mr A Ahmed from Southampton General Hospital for his paper entititled: Stem cell activation following traumatic brain injury"  

The prize was presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Sheffield by Mr Peter Hutchinson.


Mr I Timofeev  from Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge,  for his paper entitled: Cerebral extracellular chemistry and outcome following traumatic brain injury: a microdialysis study of 223 patients.  

 The Prize was presented at the SBNS Spring Meeting in Bristol in  March 2011 by Prof. Sir Graham Teasdale.


Mr M Tisdall, from the National Hospital of Neurology and Neurosurgery, was awarded the prize for his paper entitled: Normobaric hyperoxia increases cerebral aerobic metabolism after traumatic brain injury

The prize was presented at the SBNS  Spring Meeting in Birmingham in April 2009 by Mr Campbell Connolly. 

Neuropathology Essay Prize

If this prize is to awarded in the future further information will be posted on this site

Winner 2016

Yizhou Wan for his paper entitled 'Uncovering the genetics of Brain Cancer: Recent Advances and their Diagnostic and Clinical Relevance'.


Last Updated: 18 May 2018


Sir Hugh Cairns  Spring 2018

Campbell Connolly Autumn 2018

Sir Hugh Cairns Essay Prize

Deadline for submission 30 April 2018

Prize will be announced London Sept 2018 

The winner will get an opportunity to present their paper at the 2018 Autumn SBNS meeting in London

Following the transfer of Trusteeship of the Sir Hugh Cairns Memorial Fund to the SBNS, we have reinstated the Sir Hugh Cairns Essay Prize. The prize is open to all Associate Members of the SBNS at the time of submission. The prize of £1,000 will be awarded every year. The topic can be anything relating to neurosurgery, other than Trauma and must be based on original unpublished material or observation. The essay is restricted to 5,000 words (not including references, figures and tables) and aimed towards trainees in mid training.




Ravindran Visagan from Kings College, London for his essay entitled: 

Joseph Buford Pennybacker CBE MD FRCS (1907-1983): Continuing Sir Hugh Cairns’ Oxford Legacy and Pioneer of the Modern Management of Cerebral Abscesses


Richard Fu from Imperial College, London for his essay entitled:

Caudal pedunculopontine nucleus deep brain stimulation best predicts improvements in freezing of gait in Parkinson’s disease


Michael Hart from Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge 

for his essay entitled: 

Connectome analysis for pre-operative brain mapping in neurosurgery


Rasheed Zakaria  from The Walton Centre, Liverpool for his essay entitled:  

How invasive are brain metastases? Diffusion weighted MRI characteristics of the tumour boundary predict patient outcomes

John Pickard CSF Prize

Deadline for submission Spr 2019

Prize will be announced Aut 2019

The winner will get the opportunity to present their paper at the 2019 Autumn SBNS meeting in Dublin

Following the recent successful launch of the British CSF Group, Professor Pickard, retired neurosurgeon from Cambridge, has generously offered to fund a biennial essay prize. The essay, on a cerebrospinal fluid related theme, should be approximately 3000 words in length, with a preference for original personal research over a review. The winner will receive £250 and will present their paper at the Autumn SBNS meeting.



A Chari from NNHN, London for his essay entitled:

Intraparenchymal Intracranial Pressure Monitoring for Hydrocephalus and Cerebrospinal Fluid Disorders